The Ghost of You

You are left here
in books.
And your voice echoes
As music.
Your face invades a room
Permanent in my mind.
You rest and wrestle
In my body.

I scream over hills,
Whisper through trees,
Over miles of highway
In prayers
For you !
Will you not
hear me?

You read words
not sharing.
Sing songs without me.
You see the room that I am in,
But you walk through me.
You rest and wrestle me away
From you!

And I stay on my side
Of the world,
A hell silenced
By your finger
To my lip.

Leave a Reply

