Word processing disorder 

I see your word pictures

in every song.
I’ve written words 

that spell sadness

But I want to write

the

Image of sadness’

sound.

Letters in water colored

vibrations and rhythms.
Drops of rain

falling on November’s

dead leaves.
Prayers rising 

and falling like arrows

on the 

heart’s grave. 
The whisper of our 

hands not touching.
Tail lights and tires carrying 

You away forever over a 

Western horizon.
(I cannot bear listening.)

After I write these

sounds,

maybe they can 

simply become

material 

that I can 

handle, 

touch,

crumple tight, 

throw out

or recycle into

a nice poem.

Word pictures 

could spell my own 

name, not your’s, 

with music. 

And I will hear 
myself 

walking back to me. 

Leave a Reply

