The Coldest Night

You came softly to my door.You didn’t knock 

before I opened it quietly, knowing

your breath was close. 

I forced my own breath

when I saw your eyes. 

It was dark and raining. 

Stars would not shine 

upon war torn lovers. 

I wanted nothing more than 

to pull you into my warmth,

Into my arms that ache for you.

But the candle in my window 

flickered when I touched your face. 

I knew you couldn’t come in. 

So I stood beside you in the

dark and damp and never said a word. 

5 thoughts on “The Coldest Night

Leave a Reply

