The Ground Beneath My Feet

1. soot:

a black powdery or flaky substance consisting largely of amorphous carbon, produced by the incomplete burning of organic matter.

 
Black soot covers my hands.

Proof that I dance with fire

without being devoured.

I rub my hands together,

watch as the black turns to gray.

Flame becomes a fierce comfort,

forcing the stains on my heart

and hands to be forgotten.

I think of Moses and the burning bush as I remove my boots and

feel the warm floor beneath my bare feet.

I did not expect to stand on

Holy ground today.

I never expect it.

But God is always there,

in the fire,

in the lines that draw my

hands into working hands,

In the heartbeat beneath my stains.

He is here in the provision of warmth and sacrifice,

creating a place for me

to dance barefooted and holy

on the ground beneath my feet.

Leave a Reply

