before and after light hits the horizon

You held your body solid,

intentional above me.

Your eyes made some kind of

bargaining plea with my

willingness to beg for you.

We searched

with all that we had.

You held me in your arms,

wrapped my legs around you.

Ran your fingers through my hair

as our breathing settled into a

unified whispered sleep.

 

But when the outside world woke us

 with the rooster crow betrayal

and the reminder that broken

hearts can break further still,

you laced your boots up

and walked away

as I washed my face

and rinsed the love from my eyes.

 

J .Ann.

 

 

Leave a Reply

